See, I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut.

REVELATION 3:8

Senegal

Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation.

Mark 16:15

Different aspects of the mission in Senegal

During a missionary trip in May 2018, Samuel Peterschmitt was moved by the prodigious progress of the mission in Senegal. The film presents a summary of the reality of the missionary field: witness records, interviews and images: the whole work in this country presented within a few minutes.

Churches

November 1992. Claude and Martine go to Senegal on holiday. They witness and pray with a few persons on the beach. God’s answers and subsequent healings rapidly raise strong interest for the Gospel among the people there.

In 1996, pastor Samuel Peterschmitt goes with them; together, they organize the first evangelism session, which will give birth to the first church in Mbodiène. Today, there are seven churches directed by pastor Jokeel Seck and missionary worker Eric Toumieux with their respective families.

 

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Beersheba

Abraham planted a tamarisk tree in Beersheba, and there he called on the name of the LORD, the Eternal God.

Genesis 21:33

The Beer Shéba project is a farming and discipleship-training center working hand in hand with local churches planted by the mission of “La Porte Ouverte” in Senegal.

Further to numerous miracles, missionaries Eric and Heesuk Toumieux together with pastor Jokeel Seck got an arid surface of 100 ha from Serer communities living in villages close to Mbour. In the old days, the area was called “the desert” by villagers and was considered to be a cursed ground. After several years, the desert blossomed again and tens of thousands of trees grew back.

The objective of Beer Sheba is to cooperate with the Holy Spirit to make the new life received in Christ efficient and practical in the work of our young Christian farmers. They come for training for approximately one year and learn state-of-art techniques for irrigated cultivation, bovine feedlot and agroforestry to become successful farmers in a Sahelian environment. At the same time, they deepen their biblical knowledge and their relationship with Christ by studying the Word of God and living as a community on the project site.
In addition to the center, an organic farm provides resources to the project while providing experience to the youngsters on training course. Beer Shéba produces vegetables, beef, free range chickens, sausage and moringa powder, which partly cover their needs.

The name of the Beer Shéba project comes from the book of Genesis. “Abraham planted a tamarisk tree in Beersheba, and there he called on the name of the LORD, the Eternal God.” (Genesis 21:33). We explain to our Muslim neighbors that the prophet Ibrahima whom they revere stayed in Beer Shéba and made experiments with God. His son Isaac practiced cultivation and also got tremendous blessings from God. More and more people from the community around us come closer to Jesus thanks to the witness of Beer Shéba and the practical impact of the project on their lives.

Find more details on the page of Beer-Shéba

Talibe Center (Talibe means street boy)

There are between 50,000 and 100,000 Talibe according to UNICEF assessments. Tens of thousands of children aged 4 to 18 waking up every morning to go begging all day long, with only an empty can as a tool, which is also their symbol and their livelihood. They go to the city center and main streets from 4:00 a.m. to wait for the daily torrent of car drivers.

Each small Talibe, as a disciple of a religious guide or marabout, must bring back the money they earned while begging for charity every night at the daara, the Koranic school. If the marabout judges the amount is not enough, they will be humiliated and struck.

Most of them have been entrusted to the marabouts by their own parents who were hoping that they will provide them with education and a better life than that in the village. Others – who are the increasing proportion – come from foreign countries, mainly Guinea-Bissau.

The remaining part come from poor families of the city and whose parents are desperate and see no other solution than giving their children over to begging to take care of them and have them survive.

Pastor Jokeel built a center in Mbour with support from the church la Porte Ouverte to welcome the Talibe. A team of young volunteers organizes activities for them every Wednesday on a ground belonging to the church in a new district. There is a canteen, a nurse office with a care room, a classroom and sanitary facilities.

For the church, Talibe children are these “little ones” Jesus calls us to welcome in his name.

Literacy

Learning how to read and write is a fundamental right. Still, 38% of adults in Africa (about 153 millions) are illiterate, the two thirds of which being women. The illiteracy rate is high in Senegal with 50% of the population affected, and represents one of the major challenges, which the local churches still have to face today. Thanks to different donations, A literacy program was implemented from 2000 by Heesuk Toumieux, missionary at la Porte Ouverte Chrétienne in Senegal. The final purpose is to make local Serer churches able to use the Bible translated in Serer language. The tool is vital for strong and autonomous churches in the future. A local training team was formed for the program and pedagogical equipment have already been created. In spite of earlier efforts, the need is still present as our churches keep growing. Serer churches follow the fight against the obstacle of illiteracy but they still need guidance.

 

po Mission in Senegal

Christian Education

Education has many challenges to face in Senegal, like in many other African countries. The first matter of concern is the degraded quality of education, though access to education was enhanced during the last years thanks to international investment. Senegal national assessments show that only 20% of pupils in sixth grade achieve the required level in French language and only 10% in mathematics. In addition, the withdrawal rate is still high in elementary schools, with approximately only 50% of pupils actually finishing the fifth grade cycle.

Population growth also raises matters of concern for the future. Half of the current population in Senegal is less than 18. The population will still grow a lot because the proportion of youngsters is very high.

Local churches and missions have started opening schools in the last years. Heesuk Toumieux cooperates with them by training teachers and ensuring a follow-up and assessments with them. The objective is to encourage churches in developing quality education to make a real difference in the lives of children, both on academic and spiritual aspects. Christian education stakeholders are often discouraged because they have great difficulties to find skilled Christian teachers. At the moment, there is no training school for evangelical Christian teachers in Senegal, but God is currently opening a new door for us to create one this year… To be continued! 

Do you want more details? Do you want to get involved or to support the work for Christian education and literacy? Please contact Heesuk!

po Mission in Senegal
PO service replay

Watch the service again on REPLAY!

A whole week to make the most of it!

Follow Us:

Useful Information

Want to visit us, contact us, or just know more? Right here!

po webservice app ios android windows phone smartphone

Download the App!

Follow us from all over the world! Download our app:

J’ai mis devant toi une porte ouverte que nul ne peut fermer.

Apocalypse 3:8

Au Sénégal

Allez par tout le monde, et prêchez la bonne nouvelle à toute la création.

Marc 16:15

Les églises

C’est en novembre 1992 que Claude et Martine partent en vacances au Sénégal. Ils partagent leur témoignage et prient avec quelques personnes sur la plage, les réponses de Dieu et les guérisons qui s’en suivent, suscitent rapidement un très vif intérêt pour l’Évangile.

En 1996 le pasteur Samuel Peterschmitt les accompagne, ensemble ils organisent la première évangélisation qui donnera naissance à l’église de Mbodiène. Aujourd’hui ce sont sept églises qui sont dirigés par le Pasteur Djockel Seck et le Missionnaire Eric Toumieux accompagnés de leur famille.

 

  • Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.

Beershéba

Abraham planta un tamaris à Beer Shéba et là il invoqua l’Eternel, le Dieu d’Eternité.

Genèse 21:33

Le projet Beer Shéba est un centre de formation agricole et de discipolat qui fonctionne main dans la main avec les églises locales implantées par la mission de la Porte Ouverte au Sénégal.

Suite à de nombreux miracles, les missionnaires Eric et Heesuk Toumieux, avec le pasteur Jokeel Seck, ont pu obtenir une surface désertique de 100 ha auprès des communautés sérères vivant dans les villages proches de Mbour. Cette zone était auparavant appelée « le désert » par les villageois et était considérée comme une terre maudite. Après quelques années, le désert a refleuri et des dizaines de milliers d’arbres ont régénéré.

Le but de Beer Shéba est de collaborer avec le Saint-Esprit pour rendre effective et concrète dans le travail des jeunes paysans chrétiens la vie nouvelle qu’ils ont reçue en Christ. Ils y viennent en formation pendant un an et ils y apprennent les techniques les plus récentes en agriculture irriguée, en embouche bovine, en agro-foresterie afin de devenir des paysans qui réussissent en milieu sahélien. Dans le même temps, ils approfondissent leurs connaissances bibliques et leur marche avec Christ en étudiant la Parole de Dieu et en vivant en communauté sur le site du projet.
En parallèle avec le centre, une ferme bio fournit des ressources au projet tout en donnant de l’expérience aux jeunes en formation. Beer Shéba produit des légumes, de la viande de boeuf, des poulets fermiers, des saucisses, de la poudre de moringa, qui lui permettent de couvrir une partie de ses besoins.

Le nom du projet Beer Shéba vient du livre de la Genèse. « Abraham planta un tamaris à Beer Shéba et là il invoqua l’Eternel, le Dieu d’Eternité » (Genèse 21:33). Nous expliquons à nos voisins Musulmans que le prophète Ibrahima, qu’ils révèrent, a séjourné à Beer Shéba et qu’il y a fait des expériences avec Dieu. Son fils Isaac y a pratiqué l’agriculture avec également une grande bénédiction de Dieu. De plus en plus, les gens de la communauté autour de nous commencent à s’approcher de Jésus grâce au témoignage de Beer Shéba et à l’impact concret du projet sur leur vie.

Retrouvez plus d’informations sur le site de Beer-Shéba

Le centre des Talibés

Ils sont estimés entre 50’000 et 100’000 par l’UNICEF. Des dizaines de milliers d’enfants âgés de 4 à 18 ans qui chaque matin se lèvent pour un jour de mendicité, armés de la boite de conserve vide qui est leur emblème et leur gagne-pain. Dès 4 heures, ils se mettent en route vers le centre ville et les grands axes pour y attendre le flot quotidien des automobilistes.

Chaque petit talibé, disciple d’un guide religieux, ou marabout, doit rapporter ce qu’il a gagné en aumônes chaque soir en rentrant à la daara, l’école coranique. Si le marabout juge que ce n’est pas assez, l’humiliation ou les coups les attendent.

La plupart ont été confiés par leurs parents aux marabouts dans l’espoir qu’ils leur offriront une éducation et une vie meilleure que celle du village. D’autres, de plus en plus nombreux, sont des enfants venant de l’étranger, en majorité de Guinée-Bissau.

Le reste provient de familles pauvres de la ville dont les parents désespérés ne voient pas d’autre moyen d’occuper et de faire subsister leurs enfants que de les livrer à la mendicité.

Avec le soutien de l’église de la Porte Ouverte, le pasteur Jokeel a construit à Mbour un centre pour accueillir les talibés. Sur un terrain que l’église à acquis dans un nouveau quartier, chaque mercredi une équipe de jeunes volontaires organise des activités pour eux. Il y a une cantine, une salle de soins avec infirmerie, une salle de classe, des sanitaires.

Pour l’église, les enfants talibés sont ces « petits » que Jésus nous appelle à accueillir en son nom.

L'alphabétisation

Apprendre à lire et à écrire est un droit fondamental. Pourtant, 38% des adultes africains (environ 153 millions) sont analphabètes et les deux tiers d’entre eux sont des femmes. Le taux d’analphabétisme élevé au Sénégal, qui concerne environ 50 % de la population, est un des défis majeurs auquel les églises locales doivent faire face encore aujourd’hui. Depuis l’an 2000, grâce aux dons divers, un programme d’alphabétisation a été mis en œuvre par Heesuk Toumieux, missionnaire de la Porte Ouverte Chrétienne au Sénégal. Le but final est de rendre les églises locales sérères capables d’utiliser la Bible traduite en sérère. C’est un outil indispensable pour des églises fortes et autonomes dans l’avenir. Une équipe locale de formateurs a été constituée pour le programme et les matériels didactiques sont créés. Malgré les efforts antérieurs, avec la croissance des églises, ce besoin est toujours d’actualité. Les églises sérères continuent à lutter contre cet obstacle d’analphabétisme mais elles ont encore besoin d’accompagnement.

 

po Mission au Sénégal

L'éducation chrétienne

Au Sénégal, comme dans beaucoup d’autres pays d’Afrique, l’éducation est confrontée à de nombreux défis. Le premier souci est le fait que la qualité de l’éducation s’est détériorée alors que l’accès à l’éducation a augmenté grâce aux investissements internationaux au cours des  dernières années. Les évaluations nationales au Sénégal montrent que seulement 20% des élèves de sixième atteignent le niveau désiré en français et seulement 10% en mathématiques.  En outre, le taux d’abandon est toujours élevé dans les écoles élémentaires, avec seulement environ 50% d’élèves qui parviennent à terminer le cycle au CM2.

La croissance démographique pose encore plus de questions pour l’avenir. La moitié de la population actuelle au Sénégal a moins de 18 ans. La population va encore beaucoup augmenter car la proportion des plus jeunes est très élevée.

Depuis quelques années, les églises locales et les missions commencent à ouvrir des écoles. Heesuk Toumieux collabore avec ces acteurs en formant leurs enseignants et en réalisant des suivi-évaluations avec eux. L’idée est d’encourager les églises à développer une éducation de qualité qui pourrait faire une différence réelle dans la vie des enfants, du côté académique mais aussi du côté spirituel. Les acteurs chrétiens de l’éducation se découragent souvent parce qu’ils ont une énorme difficulté à trouver des enseignants chrétiens qualifiés. Actuellement il n’y a aucune école de formation d’enseignants chrétiens évangéliques au Sénégal.   Dieu est en train de nous ouvrir une nouvelle porte cette année pour en créer une… A suivre !

Envie d’en savoir davantage ? Envie de vous engager ou de soutenir le travail dans l’éducation chrétienne et l’alphabétisation ? Contactez Heesuk!

po Mission au Sénégal
PO service replay

Revivez le culte en REPLAY !

Profitez-en pendant une semaine !

Replay

Rejoignez-nous !

Informations pratiques

Nous rendre visite, nous contacter, ou simplement en savoir plus ? C'est par ici !

po webservice app ios android windows phone smartphone

Téléchargez notre application !

Vous désirez nous suivre partout dans le monde ? Téléchargez notre application :